Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Virginia
|type of Offense||License and/or Registration Suspended ?||jail Time ?||SR-22 Required ?||Maximum Fines & Fees|
|No Proof of Insurance ( Can Prove Coverage )||No||No||No||dismissed with proof|
|1st Offense With No Coverage||Yes, both||No||Yes||$ 500|
|recur Offense ( No Coverage )|| Yes, both
Read more: The 7 Best Car Insurance Companies (2022)
not having car insurance and not being able to prove that you have it are two different violations. If you have insurance but can not prove it when you get pulled over or at the scene of an accident, you are guilty of an “ administrative irreverence, ” like to a seat-belt slate. Your quotation might be dismissed if you can provide the court with proof of valid policy for the go steady of the citation within 30 days. Driving without car policy at all is much more serious, and the penalties are more severe. In addition to the legal consequences, you can besides expect your car policy premium to go up. A individual conviction for driving without insurance raises annual premiums by an modal of 5 %, or $ 53, in Virginia .
What happens if you get into a car accident without indemnity in Virginia ?
If you get into an accident while driving without policy in Virginia, you will be cited and all the penalties for driving without insurance will apply, no count who is at fault. Driving uninsured can make it difficult to be compensated for damages if you are not at mistake and can have durable and life-changing consequences if you are at mistake. If the accident is your fault, you ’ ll have to pay for all the damages out of your own pocket. In addition to the legal consequences for driving without policy, you could well be responsible for tens of thousands of dollars or more in damage to your fomite, the other driver ’ south repair and hospital bills, and your own aesculapian worry. Both the other driver and their policy company can sue you and have future wages and savings garnished to pay for damages. You could face mounting debt or even bankruptcy, particularly if the other driver doesn ’ thymine carry uninsured motorist coverage or personal wound protective covering. even if the accident is not your defect, driving without insurance leaves you vulnerable to expensive hospital and compensate bills. Virginia is an at-fault state. In at-fault states, the other driver is normally responsible for damage to your car and any checkup treatment you may need—assuming the other driver is found completely at-fault. Virginia uses a pure conducive negligence system, which means you may not be able to recover all the costs associated with the accident if you are found partially responsible for causing it. Driving uninsured doesn ’ thymine negate the other driver ’ s demerit entirely, but you ’ rhenium about surely going to be penalized and ineffective to recover everything you would be entitled to if you had insurance .
You can get cable car indemnity in Virginia, even if you are…
Uninsured: Unless you ’ re a newly licensed driver, having a history of driving without insurance or lapses in coverage is a risk to insurers. To indemnity companies, it ’ s similar to a bad drive record, which is why drivers who let their insurance oversight for 60 days pay about 20 % more than the average agio in Virginia. USAA, State Farm, Nationwide, and Geico tend to have the lowest rates for drivers who want to regain coverage. Driving someone else’s car: It ’ s not illegal to drive person else ’ south car if you do not have insurance, but non-owner car insurance can protect you if you don ’ t have a cable car but hush drive regularly. If you borrow a car from person living in your own home, you should be listed on the car owner ’ second policy. But you may want to explore non-owner coverage if you need to reinstate a driver ’ randomness license, you rent or borrow cars frequently, or you want to maintain continuous car coverage between vehicles. Geico, State Farm, Nationwide, and The General good places to shop if you need non-driver car indemnity. High-Risk: If you ’ re a bad driver who has been denied coverage from traditional policy companies, check out Virginia ’ s assigned gamble program. Whether you require an impute risk broadcast or placid qualify for bad policy from conventional providers, you ’ ll give more. In Virginia, drivers with fair two speeding tickets pay an average of 42 % more on their annual car indemnity premiums, for example. Depending on your drive phonograph record and the seriousness of your infractions, you could pay even more. still, flush though rates may be higher, at least you can drive legally and avoid more penalties .
final examination Thoughts : How to avoid driving without insurance in Virginia
Read more: Best car insurance companies for 2022
To avoid the penalties of driving without insurance, shop around for at least $ 30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage, up to $ 60,000 per accident, along with $ 20,000 in liability coverage for property damage. You can besides choose to deposit securities with the DMV to receive a self-insurance security or pay a $ 500 uninsured vehicle fee to meet minimal fiscal responsibility in Virginia. In Virginia, you can find basic liability car indemnity for around $ 660 per year if you have a houseclean drive read. The consequences of driving without policy are ultimately more costly than purchasing minimum car policy coverage. No matter what your unique needs are, the best way to get accurate quotes and the best prices is to comparison shop .show less