How Long After a Car Accident Can You File a Claim

After an accident, the come of meter you have to file a car policy claim after an accident is set by each submit ‘s government, and it ranges from one to 10 years. The time limit can vary for different claim types, even within the same legal power. For model, the time allowed for a comprehensive claim might differ from that for injury or place damage .
See the tables below for your state ’ s legislative act of limitations for filing a claim. Keep in mind that contacting your indemnity agent a early as possible will ease the claims procedure .

How long do you have to file a claim or lawsuit?

You can file a claim or lawsuit entirely within your state ‘s indebtedness time limit—known as the “ legislative act of limitations. ” Each state has its own statutes of limitations, and there are unlike clock limits for versatile types of damages, such as bodily wound or property damage.

You should know that your car insurance policy might say that you should initiate the claims process right away at the clock of the incident, or within 24 hours of when the price to your vehicle was done. But this is not the last password .
however, the shorter time frame of reference stated on your policy is not a prerequisite, and it does not preclude you or another driver from filing a call or lawsuit months or even years former, angstrom long as it is within the codified of limitations of the state where the accident occurred. This is because some injuries and mechanical damage are not apparent until days or weeks after an accident occur .
however, be aware that the longer you wait to file a claim, the hard it might be for you to defend it .
Insurance companies may be suspicious of significantly delayed claims and will investigate whether the wrong sincerely resulted from the cover accident or from a late incident. If they have legitimate reasons to doubt your claim, they may deny coverage .
typically, car indemnity claims fall under one of two statutes of limitation :

  • A time limit for bodily injury claims
  • Another time limit for other claims, including property damage (to another vehicle), collision damage (to your own vehicle), and comprehensive damage (to your own vehicle from theft or vandalism).

Statute of Limitations on Car Insurance Claims by State


Bodily Injury

Property/Collision/Comprehensive Damage

Alabama 2 years 2 years
Alaska 2 years 2 years
Arizona 2 years 2 years
Arkansas 3 years 3 years
California 2 years 2 years
Colorado 3 years 3 years
Connecticut 2 years 2 years
Delaware 2 years 2 years
Florida 4 years 4 years
Georgia 2 years 4 years
Hawaii 2 years 2 years
Idaho 2 years 2 years

Show All Rows If another driver was at blame, and the accident occurred in a no-fault state, you ‘ll file your initial title under your own collision or Personal Injury Protection ( PIP ) policy first .
however, you besides can file a claim against the other driver if you suffer from ongoing or permanent physical injuries, and the price of discussion exceeds your policy ‘s coverage .

How long do you have to report a car accident?

The sum of meter you have to report a cable car accident to the DMV or patrol varies by state. In minor accidents, after which no insurance call will be filed, reporting might not be required at all. **However, most states require you to report accidents resulting in wound or involving more than $ 2,000 of place damage. **
Since certain injuries and fomite price are not apparent until days or weeks late, it ’ mho always best to contact the police immediately after an accident. The patrol report will be testify for all reports you file with the DMV and any claims you might file with your car indemnity party.

here are the meter limits for reporting a car accident in each state of matter. Where coverage is required “ immediately, ” it ’ south typically expected that you ‘ll call the police from the scene of the accident .

  • Alabama: 30 days
  • Alaska: 10 days
  • Arizona: Immediately
  • Arkansas: 30 days to file a motor vehicle accident report
  • California: 10 days
  • Colorado: Immediately
  • Connecticut: Immediately
  • Delaware: Immediately
  • Florida: 10 days
  • Georgia: Immediately
  • Hawaii: Immediately
  • Idaho: Immediately
  • Illinois: 10 days
  • Indiana: Immediately
  • Iowa: Immediately
  • Kansas: Immediately
  • Kentucky: 10 days
  • Louisiana: Immediately
  • Maine: Immediately
  • Maryland: 15 days
  • Massachusetts: Five days
  • Michigan: Immediately
  • Minnesota: 10 days
  • Mississippi: Immediately
  • Missouri: 30 days
  • Montana: Immediately
  • Nebraska: 10 days
  • Nevada: Immediately
  • New Hampshire: 15 days
  • New Jersey: Immediately
  • New Mexico: Immediately
  • New York: Five days
  • North Carolina: Immediately
  • North Dakota: Immediately
  • Ohio: Six months
  • Oklahoma: Immediately
  • Oregon: Three days
  • Pennsylvania: Five days
  • Rhode Island: 21 days
  • South Carolina: 15 days
  • South Dakota: Immediately
  • Tennessee: 20 days
  • Texas: 10 days
  • Utah: Immediately
  • Vermont: Five days
  • Virginia: Immediately
  • Washington: Four days
  • West Virginia: Five days
  • Wisconsin: Immediately
  • Wyoming: 10 days

While you may be allowed a few hours to several weeks to report an accident, doing so immediately after the collision will likely smooth your claims process and increase your chances of recovering your losses .
policy companies and courts trust on police reports as full of life evidence, and having an military officer assess the view of the incidental assists insurers in determining clearly who was at mistake .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *