Texas Car Insurance – How Much is Car Insurance in Texas?
- Low cost auto insurance for drivers with tickets
- Companies ranked from cheapest to most expensive for drivers with accidents
- Cheap car insurance for drivers with bad credit
- Ranking of the best car insurance companies for Texas drivers
- The average car insurance rate in Texas is $152 a month, or $1,823 a year for a driver age 30 for full coverage. That’s $65 more annually than the national average ($1,758).
- Texas Farm Bureau has the cheapest car insurance in Texas for lower limits of coverage, among carriers surveyed in our experts’ data analysis of rates for nearly all ZIP codes in the state.
- Texas car insurance laws mandate that drivers carry minimum liability coverage limits of 30/60/25 on their vehicle.
- State Farm had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
modal car indemnity In Texas ( TX ) $ 152/mo. average monthly price for Texas drivers for full coverage
Everything you must know about Texas insurance
car indemnity rates vary by state, as each state has its own laws that stipulate how much coverage you need to drive legally. however early state laws may or may not ban the manipulation of credit or sex and early factors when rates are being set by policy companies. here we ’ ll explain Texas insurance laws that impact your rates, american samoa well as those that relate to moving violations
Texas Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
zip code code :
old age :
State Minimum Liability Liability Only – $ 50K/ $ 100K/ $ 50K Full Coverage – $ 100K/ $ 300K/ $ 100K *Please enter valid energy
Required liability coverage to drive legally in your state; some states mandate additional coverage, such as personal injury protection, uninsured motorist, underinsured motorist.
Liability Only 50/100/50:
$50,000 per person/$100,000 maximum per accident for bodily injury; $50,000 for property damage. Liability pays for injuries/damage you cause others.
Full Coverage 100/300/100:
$100,000 per person/$300,000 maximum per accident for bodily injury; $100,000 for property damage; comprehensive and collision coverage with $500 deductible. Liability pays for injuries/damage you cause others. Comprehensive and collision pay for damage to your car.
( type :
Liability – Minimum
) modal monthly premium $ 50
/mo Highest rate
/mo Lowest rate Compare personalized quotes from up to 20 companies in
now How we researched it ? CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average car insurance rates for a 2017 Honda Accord for about every zip code code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for up to six large carriers. Averages for the default option resultant role are based monthly indemnity for a male driver, age 30, for department of state minimum required indebtedness coverage. Averages for customize rates are based on drivers ’ ages and gender for the be coverage levels : state minimal liability, indebtedness of 50/100/50 and 100/300/100 with $ 500 deductible on comprehensive examination and collision. These hypothetical drivers have clean records and adept credit. average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle. How do I use the calculator to get average car policy rates ? Enter a ZIP code in the creature below to see the average premium for the placement. You will besides see the highest and lowest rates from the six major carriers surveyed. You can get a more custom-make rate by choosing from among six age groups and three coverage levels. This way you can tell if your quotes are excessively high and if you should keep shop for a lower rate. The average car indemnity rate in Texas is $ 152 a calendar month, or $ 1,823 a year for a driver long time 30 for full coverage. That ’ south $ 65 more annually than the national average ( $ 1,758 ). The average car indemnity pace for state of matter minimum coverage is just under $ 25 a calendar month, or $ 414 a class. Enter a ZIP code in the tool above to see the average bounty for the placement. You will besides see the highest and lowest rates from the six major carriers surveyed. You can get a more customize rate by choosing from among six historic period groups and three coverage levels. This means you can tell if your insurance quotes are besides high and if you should keep denounce for a lower rate .
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Texas?
Texas Farm Bureau has the cheapest car policy in Texas for lower limits of coverage, among carriers surveyed in our experts ’ data psychoanalysis of rates for closely all ZIP codes in the submit .
|Company||State minimum average annual rate||50/100/50 average annual rate||100/300/100 average annual rate|
|Texas Farm Bureau Mut Ins Co||$414||$458||$1,465|
|State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co||$446||$495||$1,421|
|AAA TX Cnty Mut Ins Co||$493||$537||$1,784|
|Geico County Mutual Ins Co.||$527||$562||$1,539|
|Allstate Fire & Cas Ins Co||$615||$633||$3,065|
|Colonial Cnty Mut Ins Co||$735||$708||$1,663|
state farm is the cheapest car indemnity company for full coverage policies in Texas, among those surveyed. here ’ s how much less State Farm ’ randomness modal rate is compared to others :
- $45 less than Texas Farm Bureau
- $360 less than AAA
- $120 less than Geico
- $1,645 less than Allstate
- $240 less than Colonial
Texas Farm Bureau ’ second rates were cheapest for liability policy for Texas drivers, compared to other carriers surveyed. For state minimum liability requirements, Texas Farm Bureau was :
- $50 cheaper a year than State Farm
- $80 cheaper than AAA
- $110 cheaper than Geico
- $200 cheaper than Allstate
- $320 cheaper than Colonial
Cheap auto insurance in Texas
Texas car indemnity laws mandate that drivers carry minimum liability coverage limits of 30/60/25 on their vehicle. Buying the submit required limits to drive is decidedly the cheapest direction to go. But if you opt for the cheapest car insurance in Texas, you are only covered for wrong you do to other drivers ’ cars and for others ’ injuries. That means your insurance company won ’ triiodothyronine pay up for damage to your car or for your injuries if you cause an accident. still, buying equitable the minimum coverage required is a good estimate if you have an honest-to-god car or don ’ thymine drive much. It does cost more to buy more protection, but as you ’ ll watch in the chart below, extra coverage is typically low-cost. Increasing your insurance from the state of matter minimum to entire coverage with $ 500 deductible costs, on average, $ 1,285more, or about $ 100 a month. For higher liability limits, the supernumerary cost is equitable $ 27 a class, so only about $ 2 monthly .
|Coverage limits||Average annual rate|
|Liability Only – state minimum||$538|
|Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||$565|
|Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible||$1,823|
*The table shows the average annual rate of about every slide fastener code in Texas from up to six major insurance companies. Rates are for a male driver, age 30, with a clean record and good credit for a 2018 Honda Accord. Data was provided for CarInsurance.com by Quadrant Information Services .
Tips for getting low cost insurance in Texas
The most effective way to find low cost Texas indemnity is to compare car insurance quotes from multiple carriers. Your age, your drive commemorate, the model of car you have, the severity and frequency of claims in your neighborhood and other variables are used by policy companies to figure out the price of your policy. That ’ s why the price for the same coverage can vary significantly among indemnity companies — and why you should compare rates. For case, Dallas ZIP code 75241 is among the most expensive ZIP code for broad coverage indemnity in the state. But you can still save on coverage by comparing rates. The highest monthly rate ( $ 268 ) among six carriers is $ 166 more than the lowest ( $ 102 ). so over a year, that add up to closely $ 2,000 you could save. If you want to compare car policy quotes, use our tool above. You should comparison workshop upon renewal, but besides if you move, add a fomite or adolescent driver to your policy, get married or divorced, or have a significant transfer in your credit mark. early tips for garnering the most low-cost Texas car indemnity admit :
- Maximizing discounts, for instance bundling your home and auto with the same company can trim an average of 10% to 12% from your auto rates.
- Dropping comprehensive and collision for cars that are worth less than $3,000
- Hiking your deductible amount, for instance, from $500 to $1,000
Filing an accident claim means you are probably to pay more for your car indemnity coverage. however, how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car indemnity company plays is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that ‘s why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Texas driver with a full coverage policy :
|Company||1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K||2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k||At-fault bodily injury accident|
|GEICO County Mutual Ins Co.||$1,966||$2,737||$1,966|
|Progressive Cty Mtl||$1,745||$3,234||$1,745|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,718||$2,032||$1,718|
If you get a accelerate ticket, chances are you ‘ll see an increase in what you pay for cable car indemnity, upon your policy refilling. typically, you ‘ll pay more for three years. But evening with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For example, you ‘ll see that the remainder between the highest rate and the lowest in the table downstairs is $ 1,325, on average, according to CarInsurance.com ‘s rate analysis. That ‘s how a lot you can save by comparing cable car policy companies .
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,166|
|GEICO County Mutual Ins Co.||$1,757|
|Progressive Cty Mtl||$1,880|
No matter where you live, adding a modern driver to your kin policy will hike your rate importantly. In Texas, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 167 percentage when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. You ‘ll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a adolescent driver in Texas, and how major insurers compare on price. State Farm had the lowest car indemnity cost for adding a driver age 16 to a entire coverage class policy, among insurers surveyed .
|Company||Average Rate||Average Rate after adding female teen||$ Increase (female)||Average Rate after adding male teen||$ Increase (male)|
|GEICO County Mutual Ins Co.||$1,333||$2,674||$1,341||$2,948||$1,616|
|Progressive Cty Mtl||$1,604||$4,154||$2,550||$4,607||$3,003|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,166||$2,562||$1,396||$2,771||$1,605|
Enter an age from 18 to 25 to see who has the best rates for young drivers in Texas, by company. You ’ ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for youthful drivers buying a wax coverage policy. average car insurance rates by age data shows that drivers typically pay higher rates until senesce 26, when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car indemnity rates to see which party has the lowest rates, by qualifying for scholar discounts and by staying on their parents ’ policy equally long as possible.
Below you can see modal rates by ship’s company, from least to most expensive, for drivers age 65 and over, buying a broad coverage policy. In addition to comparing cable car indemnity companies, seniors may qualify for fledged driver discounts that can trim costs.
car indemnity for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Texas is among the worst states for drivers with bad credit rating, as CarInsurance.com ‘s data analysis shows it has the fourthly highest share increase for bad credit drivers. Compared to good accredit drivers, those in Texas with badly credit wage 93 percentage more, on average. The good news program is that you can hush shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car indemnity companies. You ‘ll see below that the remainder among major insurers is closely $ 1,665 for a wax coverage policy for a driver with badly recognition. That ‘s how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes .
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,338|
|Progressive Cty Mtl||$2,966|
|GEICO County Mutual Ins Co.||$3,539|
Best car insurance companies in Texas
Scores are based on Insure.com ’ s “ Best policy Companies ” customer follow-up sketch of 3,700 customers. Policyholders ranked insurers on claims handling, customer service, value, mobile apps/website utility and were asked if they would renew their coverage and if they would recommend the company. All scores are out of 100 .
- The Auto Club Group – abdominal aortic aneurysm 91.89
- Auto Club of Southern California* 90.77
Read more: The 7 Best Car Insurance Companies (2022)
- CSAA Insurance Group 89.67
- USAA 88.54
- mercury 87.97
- lake erie 87.76
- Metlife 86.71
- countrywide 86.34
- progressive 86.02
- Safeco 85.7
- American Family 85.47
- hartford 85.44
- Allstate 85.32
- The General 84.48
- express farm 83.6
- Geico 83.22
- Liberty Mutual 80.98
- Farmers 80.24
- Esurance 79.19
- Travelers 76.07
*Auto Club of Southern California ( Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group )
Texas Auto Insurance Laws – State Minimum Requirements TX
Texas car policy laws mandate that drivers carry minimum indebtedness coverage limits of 30/60/25 on their vehicle. Buying the submit required limits to drive is decidedly the cheapest direction to go. But if you opt for the cheapest car insurance in Texas, you are only covered for wrong you do to other drivers ’ cars and for others ’ injuries. That means your insurance company won ’ t give for damage to your car or for your injuries if you cause an accident. even, buying merely the minimal coverage required is a good theme if you have an honest-to-god car or don ’ triiodothyronine drive much .
|Minimum Coverage||Minimum Limit|
|Minimum bodily injury liability||$30,000/$60,000|
|Minimum property damage liability||$25,000|
How to get cheap SR-22 auto quotes in Texas
In some cases if you ’ ve been convicted of moving violation such as DUI, foolhardy drive or driving without policy, the state will require you to have an SR-22 form on file. An SR-22 is not an actual type of car insurance. The SR-22 is simply a shape that your car policy company files on your behalf with the department of state. It ’ s the company ’ second undertake to the state that you have legally mandated car insurance coverage. An SR-22 by itself does n’t raise your policy rates. quite, it ‘s the conviction that triggered the requirement that causes your premiums to increase. so, getting cheap SR-22 car quotes for Texas drivers is the same process any driver would take to get the most low-cost coverage. That means comparison shop. You ’ ll see below how insurance companies in Texas compare for SR-22 policies. This shows that you can still get brassy SR-22 quotes in Texas by comparing quotes from multiple carriers .
|Company||Annual rate SR22 with DUI||Monthly rate SR22 with DUI|
* Average rates
Non onwers car insurance in Texas
car policy companies offer non-owner policies because the industry is aware that there are some instances when a person may need to carry car insurance but does n’t have a fomite to place on the policy. The average cost of a non-owner policy is $ 474. typically, drivers who need a non-owner policy are mandated by the department of state to have car indemnity coverage, but don ’ t own a car. In other cases, drivers who don ’ thyroxine own a fomite, but want coverage for when they drive a lease or other cable car buy non-owner policies .
DWI in Texas
Under Texas submit law, a .08 BAC ( blood or breath alcohol concentration ) means you are legally intoxicated and may be arrested and cited for driving while intoxicated ( DWI ). however, a person is besides intoxicated if impaired due to alcohol or early drugs regardless of BAC. Whether you ‘re the driver or the passenger, you can be fined up to $ 500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle. If stopped and you refuse to take a blood or breath test, your driver license will be mechanically suspended for 180 days. After two or more DWI convictions in five years, you must install a special ignition switch that prevents your vehicle from being operated if you ‘ve been drinking.
It varies depending on the numeral of convictions : First Offense
- A fine of up to $2,000
- Three days to 180 days in jail
- Loss of driver license up to a year
- Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license
- A fine of up to $4,000
- One month to a year in jail
- Loss of driver license up to two years
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license
- A $10,000 fine
- Two to 10 years in prison
- Loss of driver license up to two years
- Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license
A DWI stays on your record permanently in Texas unless you are able to get it expunged or sealed, according to the Dallas-based Law Offices of Randall B. Isenberg. however, a state of matter law passed in 2017 now allows drivers who meet certain criteria to have DUI convictions sealed, by petitioning the woo for non-disclosure. That means, in effect, that while it remains on your record, it won ’ thyroxine be seen by people reviewing your record, for exemplify landlords and potential employers. How long a DUI will impact your car indemnity rates depends on your insurance company. by and large, it will be at least two to three years, but can be up to seven .
Expert’s recommendation on how much car insurance do you need in Texas?
The cheapest car policy may not provide sufficient protection, so how a lot indemnity should you buy ? Bare-bones coverage may be a good choice if you have few assets or have an old cable car and preceptor ’ t drive much. But if you have a home and investments, consider buying more insurance. If you don ’ metric ton, you ’ re at hazard for having your money and firm taken to cover the price of an accident. If you financed your car you will be required to get extra comprehensive and collision coverage
We recommend you buy more insurance than is required to legally drive a car in your state, specially if you have savings and assets. The more money you have, the more likely you are to be sued following a car accident should your insurance be insufficient to cover all the expenses. If your net worth is:
- less than $50,000, choose at least 50/100/50
- between $50,000 and $100,000, choose at least 100/300/100
- more than $100,000, choose at least 250/500/100
If you ‘re leasing or financing your car, you must get coverage of 100/300/100 or higher.
Collision coverage pays for damage to your car after an accident that you cause. comprehensive insurance pays to replace steal cars and for damages from vandalism, flood, hail, fire and animal strikes. If your car is:
- less than 10 years old, you should strongly consider buying collision and comprehensive.
- more than 10 years old, only buy collision and comprehensive if your car is worth $3,000 or more, if you couldn’t afford to replace your car if it’s wrecked, or if you just want more protection on your policy.
For drivers in Texas, collision costs an average of $ 529 annual, comprehensive is $ 228, according to CarInsurance.com rate data. If you buy comp and collision, check our steer to choosing a deductible total.
These are both optional coverages and should match the indebtedness limits you choose. Uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage pays for damages if you ’ re hit by a driver with no indemnity or a driver with coverage that ’ south insufficient to pay for your repairs and medical expenses
medical payments coverage can help pay for the checkup or funeral expenses of breed drivers and passengers after an accident, careless of mistake, up to $ 25,000. In most states, including Texas, it ‘s an optional accession to your cable car policy policy. MedPay does the pursue :
- Covers you and your passengers’ medical expenses
- Pays for expenses after health insurance limits are exceeded
- Offers additional protection to insured drivers who are hit by a car while walking or biking
- Don’t have health insurance, or have a plan that doesn’t cover car accidents or has low limits, we recommend that you add medical coverage of at least $5,000 to your car insurance policy.
- Do have health insurance, it’s still a good idea to have medical coverage if you want the best protection in your policy, as it can pay out after your health benefits are maxed out.
If you don ’ t own your car instantaneously and have an accident, gap policy pays the difference between the cash value of your car and the current great libra on your loanword or lease .
- If you’re financing your car, your car is less than one year old and you’ve put less than 20 percent down on it, you should buy gap insurance. If not, you don’t need gap insurance.
- If you’re leasing your car, it’s a good idea to buy gap insurance if you aren’t already required to in your lease agreement.
- If you own your car outright, you don’t need gap insurance.
More About Texas Auto insurance and FAQs
You can get Texas car indemnity quotes online by researching multiple carriers, and by clicking on the button below. When comparing car indemnity quotes, you will typically need to provide fairly basic information :
- ZIP code
- Basic personal information – name, age, birthday
- Driving history
- Current insurance company
- Information on other drivers in your household
- Vehicle make and model
- Desired coverage types, limits and deductibles
More detailed quotes may also require:
- All vehicles VIN (vehicle identification number)
- If you own, lease or financed your vehicle
- Annual mileage
- All household driver’s license numbers
- Amount of time you’ve been insured
once you provide the information, you will typically get a quote that is in many cases an estimate of what you will pay. Generally, you won ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate get the actual rate until you lock in a policy. If the deviation between the quotation and your rate is meaning, you can opt out of buying the policy, though by and large the estimate will be fairly accurate. Once you are quick to buy a policy you will for certain necessitate to have handy specific information, such as your driver ’ mho license number, VIN and thus on. I don ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate think we want to get into insurance without a license, is outlier position and people searching that likely not going to get quotes or be able to get indemnity unless from high risk driver consortium if not licensed,
The median car insurance rate for Texas ( $ 1,823 ) is about $ 65 more than the national average ( $ 1,758 ). It ranks Xth among all states, therefore is in the in-between of the pack, relatively speaking. Yet, it may seem coverage is distillery costly. One reason why cable car indemnity costs in Texas are relatively high is because it has one of the highest levels of required coverage that you need to drive legally. It ’ south state minimum requirements are 30/60/25, among the highest in the nation. It ’ second besides a big state with the majority of the drivers living in densely populate urban areas. Urban areas and big cities tend to have higher rates than rural areas, because there are more drivers on the road, which means there tends to be more accident claims. This increases rates for everyone, even though drivers in rural Texas pay much less, typically, than driver in the state ’ south adult cities. Texas is besides known for having some of the highest speed limits in the country, which can lead to accidents that may have more extensive damage, compared to those happening at lower limits.
The shortstop answer is : yes. But you may not want to buy it. You can find car insurance with no credit check, but it may not be the best route to take if you want to get the most low-cost car insurance as a driver with bad credit. There are some indemnity companies that specialize in bad drivers that may not run a citation check when selling you a policy. however, these carriers typically sell policies with very express coverage at very expensive rates. The best way to get low-cost policy with bad credit is to compare rates from both traditional and non-traditional companies. Often, the lowest pace will be from a major insurance company that runs a credit check, rather than from a smaller party that does not.
here are the highways and roads where the most fatal accidents happened in 2017, according to the most late data available from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System research compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration :
|Roads||Number of Fatal Accidents|
Largest car insurance companies in Texas
|Rank||Company||Premiums Written||Market Share|
|1||State Farm Group||3,563,120||16.83%|
|2||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group||2,637,489||12.46%|
|3||Allstate Insurance Group||2,362,584||11.16%|
|4||Progressive Insurance Group||2,041,345||9.64%|
|5||Farmers Insurance Group||1,842,735||8.70%|
|7||Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies||1,195,735||5.65%|
|9||American Family Insurance Group||32,453||0.15%|
source : A.M. Best ; State/Line ( P/C Lines ) – P/C, US ; Data as of : November 28, 2018
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Texas
Below you ‘ll see how average annual rates for respective of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $ 100,000 per person/ $ 300,000 per accident in liability and $ 50,000 of place price coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $ 500 deductible.
Show Tabular Data
Category : car insurance questions