- $30,000 for bodily injuries per person
- $60,000 for bodily injuries per accident
- $20,000 for property damage per accident
It is important to note that these coverage requirements are scheduled to increase. For policies effective after January 1, 2025, drivers must carry a minimum 50/100/25 policy.
It is not adequate to have the insurance required by law. It is besides necessary to keep documented proof of coverage any time you get behind the steering wheel. You could face consequences for failing to maintain your coverage or even for just keeping validation in your vehicle .
What is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Virginia?
The minimum indemnity requirements set out in the law are not merely suggestions. bankruptcy to comply with this necessity could have costly consequences. One positive remainder for drivers between Virginia and many early states is that imprison time is not an option with this offense. In many jurisdictions, the failure to secure policy could result in up to a year behind bars .
In Virginia, a ticket for failure to maintain policy could result in a $ 600 disobedience fee to the DMV. What ’ s more, your license could be suspended. In addition to reinstatement fees, you could besides be required to carry SR-22 indemnity. This besides differs from the approach path of many other states who typically provide increase penalties for second and subsequent offenses.
What Factors Does Virginia Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
policy companies are allowed to use many unlike factors when determining what to charge you for car indemnity. Drivers who share most of these factors in common could face very unlike policy quotes due to one deviation in their life style, location or circumstances .
There is a argue that each of these factors is used when determining the price of your cable car indemnity. Each of these factors is considered to be linked with an increased – or decreased – gamble of an accident. For example, bad drivers with a history of previous accidents can expect to pay more. Some of the factors normally used by policy companies to set their rates include :
- Zip code
- Credit history
- Marital status
- Type of vehicle
- Accident history
- Claim history
There is no interview that many of these factors could drive up the cost of your car insurance. similarly, items such as having a great credit score, being married and having no claims will decrease your premium. other ways to help lower your premium include things like driving an older vehicle. Your policy agent can besides help you find the right discounts to bring your premiums down .
Am I Required to Report an Accident in Virginia to Authorities?
It is necessary to report an accident in Virginia to the authorities in the huge majority of cases. While there are some circumstances where report is not necessary, these are few and far between .
Virginia jurisprudence sets out the requirements for reporting an accident to the authorities. The law gives you the option to make your composition to either a local anesthetic or state law enforcement means. According to the codified, it is necessary to report an accident if there were bodily injuries, fatalities, or celebrated property damage. This accounts for the huge majority of collisions throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia. The failure to report an accident could lead to jail time, fines, and early serious consequences .