These States Don’t Require Car Insurance

For most drivers, backing out of the driveway without a solid car indemnity policy is a big no-no .
not only is it required by jurisprudence, but it besides offers a worldly concern of protective covering for your car, your person, and your bank account, in the event of an accident .
Car insurance is, well, kind of a boastful conduct .
But what if I told you that there are drivers on the road mighty immediately without an car policy policy ?

You would think that they are breaking the law .
well, if they are from New Hampshire or Virginia, they are operating well within their rights .
here ’ s everything you need to know about what New Hampshire and Virginia do require from drivers, along with why you should still consider purchasing coverage if you live in them .

New Hampshire

These States Don't Require Car Insurance - New Hampshire

What is required?

New Hampshire does not require a minimum amount of car insurance coverage, and drivers can legally operate a registered vehicle without insurance.
That said, drivers are still responsible if they do get into an accident. They could face costs of up to $ 50,000 for indebtedness and $ 25,000 for property damage .

Is anyone required to purchase auto insurance?

Some drivers in New Hampshire must purchase indemnity coverage, including drivers with :

  • DWIs .
  • accustomed offenders .
  • At-fault convictions for an uninsured accident .

Does New Hampshire have minimum coverage requirements?

If you do decide to purchase car policy coverage in New Hampshire, you ’ ll need to meet sealed minimum coverage requirements. These include :

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person .
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people .
  • $25,000 for property damage .
  • $1,000 for medical payments coverage .
  • Uninsured motorists coverage.

Because the potential costs of an accident are so senior high school, it normally makes common sense to purchase policy coverage quite than run the risk of getting into an accident while uninsured .
While car indemnity may seem like an unnecessary monthly expense, it ’ mho much easier to afford a robust car insurance policy than it is to cover the likely cost of even a minor accident .


These States Don't Require Car Insurance - Virginia

What is required?

In Virginia, drivers must have policy coverage unless they pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee of $ 500 annually in addition to normal registration fees .

Does the fee need to be paid upfront?

eligible vehicle owners may pay the fee over time using a payment plan if they can ’ t afford the tip upfront .

Does Virginia have minimum coverage requirements?

If you don ’ metric ton pay the uninsured motor vehicle tip, you are required to purchase car insurance with minimum coverage amounts of :

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person .
  • $50,000 for bodily wound or death of two or more people .
  • $20,000 for place damage .

Because this fee is often comparable to the amount drivers would pay per year for indemnity coverage, while lacking many of the benefits of car indemnity, it ’ s about constantly advisable to purchase car indemnity rather than pay the fee .

other states with less rigorous car insurance requirements

All 48 other states in the state necessitate car policy coverage of some kind .

Minimum coverage amounts vary by state

The minimum coverage come varies from department of state to state, and may not apply to all vehicles. For model, Florida does not require motorcycle insurance coverage but does require auto insurance coverage for all vehicles with four wheels .
While you must meet the minimal indemnity requirements in holy order to legally operate your fomite, it ’ second normally a thoroughly mind to purchase more than the minimal measure of required coverage. More robust indemnity coverage can save you a distribute of money in the consequence of an accident or if your car is damaged .

Proof of financial responsibility may be enough in some states

Some states, like California, for exemplify, allow drivers to provide proof of fiscal responsibility alternatively of purchasing car insurance .
In these cases, drivers may either purchase a bail or provide a cash sum to prove that they can cover costs in the event of an accident. Drivers still need to carry proof of fiscal duty with them when driving, barely like they would have to provide proofread of policy coverage .

What happens when you get into an accident without policy

These States Don't Require Car Insurance - What happens when you get into an accident without insurance
There are several consequences if an uninsured motorist gets into an accident in a country that doesn ’ thymine command car indemnity .

  • In New Hampshire, drivers are responsible for up to $50,000 in liability costs and $25,000 in property damage costs. If drivers aren’t able to pay these bills, they may have their license suspended and will no longer be able to drive.
  • In Virginia, drivers remain personally liable for an accident even if they pay an uninsured motorist fee. This means that they will be responsible for the cost of an accident, including costs related to bodily injury, death, and property damage. They will also be responsible for their own medical bills and the cost, if any, to repair their vehicle.

Why you should purchase car policy ( even if it ’ mho not required )

If you can afford to do so, you should purchase adenine much car indemnity coverage as you possibly can, even if your country does not require it. After all, the more insurance you have, the better your chances are of walking aside from an accident with minimal damage to your finances .
If you ( legally ) drive uninsured, getting into an at-fault accident could mean that you are hit with a knock-out blow to your finances. Depending on the severity, it could be hard to keep your head above water, even if you are otherwise financially secure .
not only that, but you could be left without transportation system to and from crucial obligations, like your job or important checkup appointments .
The peace of mind that insurance provides you is why, even though they are not normally required by most states, comprehensive and collision indemnity is therefore popular with drivers.


While most states require some form of car indemnity coverage, not all 50 states do so. New Hampshire and Virginia are luminary in that they do not require car insurance for all motorists, but for drivers who do not have the means to dish out large amounts of money in the font of an accident, this might not be a well thing .
While car policy can seem like an unnecessary monthly expense, it ’ s about always a smart fiscal be active, even if you live in a state where car indemnity international relations and security network ’ thyroxine required .
so, before heading out on the open road, consider your car indemnity policy. Are you protected ?

Read more:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *