Car Insurance in New York | NY Car Insurance | Freeway Insurance
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person ($50,000 for accidents resulting in death)
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability per accident ($100,000 for accidents resulting in death)
- $10,000 for property damage liability per accident
- $50,000 for personal injury protection (PIP)
bodily injury/death liability policy in New York covers medical bills and funeral costs if person other than you is injured or killed in a car accident. Property damage indebtedness covers repair costs to cars and property other than your own. Both of these coverages lone apply when you ’ re at fault for a car accident .
personal injury security ( PIP ) coverage in New York covers your own checkup bills if you ’ re injured in a car accident. Unlike bodily wound or property price liability, PIP insurance applies whether or not you ’ re at fault for the car accident .
What Factors Does New York Law Allow in Determining Your Premiums?
car policy companies in New York are legally allowed to consider respective factors when determining how much you pay for car insurance. Below are the most crucial factors that affect your car policy premium in New York.
- Marital Status
- Driving History
- Type of Car
- Driving Experience
- Credit History
What is the Penalty for Driving without Insurance in New York?
New York takes car policy very badly. If you ’ rhenium catch driving without cable car indemnity in New York, you could face a penalty anywhere between $ 150 and $ 1,500. Your car can be impounded, and you could even face jail fourth dimension for up to 15 days. Your license and vehicle registration will likely be suspended. To reinstate your license, you ’ ll want to prove to the DMV that you have valid car indemnity coverage and besides pay a $ 750 reinstatement fee .
All of these penalties apply whether you ’ rhenium driving your own car while uninsured or letting person else borrow your car.
Keep in mind that a police policeman will constantly ask to see proof of indebtedness policy at any dealings check, flush if you were stopped for something unrelated to car insurance. And if you can ’ triiodothyronine provide proof of insurance, the police officeholder will assume that you don ’ t have coverage. That ’ mho why it ’ second important always to have a copy of your insurance card somewhere where you can well entree it while driving. While many indemnity companies provide electronic ID cards, we recommend keeping a newspaper transcript as your primary validation of policy. You never know when you ’ ll forget your telephone or run out of battery !
Am I Required to Report an Accident in New York to Authorities?
According to New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law, drivers in New York are legally required to file an accident composition for any cable car accident that involves wound or death or for any accident where the value of property damage ( including damage to your own car ) is more than $ 1,000. If you don ’ thyroxine file an accident report within ten days of the date of the accident, then your license can be suspended until you file the report .
once the accident report is filed, the accident will appear on your New York drive phonograph record. however, the New York DMV does not determine who ’ s at defect for a car accident. consequently, accidents on your New York drive phonograph record will never indicate whether you ’ re at fault or not .
once you ’ ve filed your accident report with the New York DMV, you ’ ll still want to contact your car policy party and let them know that you were involved in an accident. That way, the indemnity company has arsenic much information as possible about the accident while your memory is fresh. The more information you give your insurance company, the more prepare they ’ ll be to help you and process your claim promptly .
Category : car insurance questions