Connecticut Car Insurance
Whether it is commuting throughout the towns of Connecticut, or heading to the “ Big Apple ”, you will need to make sure you have the right car insurance for your car .
If you happen to get into an accident without the proper car insurance, you can face fines, a license suspension, or even jail time .
Connecticut Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving in Connecticut without car policy or during a lapse in coverage, you will receive a warn notice which gives you the find to enter into a consent agreement, obtain insurance and pay a fine of $ 200. If you fail to comply with the detect, your registration will be suspended, and you will lose all privileges to renew or register any other motive fomite. In club to lift the pause, you will need to pay an uninsured motorist civil penalty of $ 200 and provide proof of insurance to your DMV .
Connecticut Car Insurance Laws
Under Connecticut ‘ south car indemnity laws, drivers are constantly required to have car insurance on all record vehicles. Connecticut minimal coverage car indemnity requirements are as follows :
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage for one person in an accident
- $50,000 for all bodily injuries to all persons in an accident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
Drivers besides must purchase extra coverage for bodily injuries to uninsured or underinsured motorists with limits at least $ 20,000 ( for one person ) / $ 40,000 ( more than one person in an accident ) unless rejected in writing
Connecticut DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Connecticut ‘ s DUI laws state that anyone with a blood alcohol content ( BAC ) at least 0.08 is considered under the charm, and therefore national to a Driving Under the Influence ( DUI ) discourtesy. If you refuse to take a chemical quiz when pulled over for a DUI, you will be subject to 6-month license suspension and spend up to 2 days in imprison. Penalties for drivers ( historic period 21 and older ) first drink drive umbrage are as follows :
- License suspension of 45 days, followed by one year driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock
- One-year jail sentence, 30 days of which cannot be suspended
- Fine from $500 to $1,000
- Vehicle towed at your expense
Connecticut Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws
Connecticut police bans the use of hand-held devices while driving. There is besides a ban on texting while driving in Connecticut. Talking or texting on a cell phone is a primary coil crime in the express of Connecticut and violators may be fined $ 125 .
Connecticut SR-22 Insurance Documents
An SR-22 form is a state or motor hotel ordered text file that provides validation that a driver is carrying the minimal total of car insurance for their state. In Connecticut, SR-22 policy documents may be required to prove that a driver ’ s liability policy is in impression .