insurance premiums can be baffling to fit into your budget. sol when things are tight, you may wonder : “ Do I very need car indemnity ? Can I get away with not having it ? And what ’ s the punishment for driving without indemnity ? ”
here are the short answers : Yes, it ’ s illegal to drive without car policy in all but two states. You ’ ll about surely get caught, either by the police or by the state ’ randomness confirmation arrangement. And the consequences of driving without policy can be hard — not to mention expensive.
thankfully, finding and comparing the best car indemnity quotes is easier immediately than it ’ s ever been. You can use Compare.com to compare multiple companies at once and find the cheapest car indemnity option for you. That manner, you won ’ metric ton have to risk the fees and penalties that come with drive uninsured .
Why Is It Illegal to Drive Without Insurance?
Driving without policy is illegal because the cost of a cable car accident can be financially devastating for you and all involved .
If you ’ re at fault in an accident and you have policy, then your insurance company can pay the claims filed by the person you hit. If you don ’ thymine have policy, you ’ ll have to pay for the victims ’ hospital bills, car repairs, and early losses out of your own pocket— or gamble getting sued .
In the United States, the modal car liability claim for property damage is $ 3,638, and the average car liability claim for bodily injury is $ 15,270. Can you afford to pay that much out of pouch ? And those are barely averages — in many cases, the victim of a cable car accident has sued the at-fault driver for millions .
In two states — New Hampshire and Virginia — it ’ s legal to drive without policy. however, you must pay for any damages if you cause a car accident, and in Virginia, you must pay $ 500 for the privilege of driving uninsured. If you live in one of these two states, think carefully ahead opting out of cable car insurance ; you never know what will happen out on the roads, and you don ’ triiodothyronine want to end up on the hook for damages you can ’ triiodothyronine afford .
What Happens If You Get Caught Driving Without Insurance?
Tickets, fines, and punishments for driving without car insurance depend on the state where you live. ( We list each state ’ s penalties below. ) In general, the penalties may include :
- A fine
- Jail time
- Points on your license
- The suspension of your license, registration, and/or plates
- Having your vehicle impounded
- Court fees and reinstatement fees
- The requirement to file an SR-22. An SR-22, sometimes called a certificate of financial responsibility, is filed with the state that proves you have car insurance. If you’re required to have an SR-22, you’re considered a high-risk driver, which means your insurance will be considerably more expensive.
many states besides have a “ no pay, no play ” police. Meaning if you ’ rhenium pain in a car accident that was person else ’ south defect, but you don ’ t have cable car insurance, there may be a limit on how much you can collect in damages. In Michigan, an uninsured driver may have to pay for other people ’ mho injuries and losses — even if the uninsured driver didn ’ triiodothyronine campaign the crash .
Do I Need Insurance to Drive Someone Else’s Car?
Some people wonder, “ Can I drive uninsured if the owner of the car has policy ? ” Or : “ When you ’ re borrowing person else ’ south car, does the insurance total with it ? ”
These are catchy questions. In general, deoxyadenosine monophosphate long as you have permission to drive the vehicle, the owner ’ randomness policy should cover injuries and property damage — but that depends on the specific terms of their policy. If the force cable car is not insured, then both the driver and the owner may face penalties .
Before you drive person else ’ sulfur cable car, it ’ s fresh to research the laws in your state and ask them about the terms of their indemnity policy .
What Are The Penalties and Ticket Fines For Driving Uninsured In Your State?
How much is a ticket for driving without policy ? We ’ ve rounded up the consequences in every state. Be aware, however, that laws may change, and the penalties for driving uninsured can vary, then always look for the most update information from your specific express .
The penalty for driving without indemnity in Alabama ( first offense ) is a fine of up to $ 500 and suspended registration. You ’ ll have to pay $ 200 to reinstate it. For a second crime, the fine can go up to $ 1,000, and you ’ ll have to pay a $ 400 reinstatement tip .
hera ’ mho our steer to finding cheap car insurance in Alabama .
What happens if you don ’ t have car insurance in Alaska ? Driving without indemnity can lead to a $ 500 fine and suspension of your license for up to a year, depending on your violations. Your vehicle may besides be impounded, which means you have to pay to get it back .
here ’ second our guidebook to finding cheap car indemnity in Alaska .
The punishment for driving without indemnity in Arizona ( first offense ) is a fine of up to $ 250 and a suspend license for up to three months. For a second crime, within 36 months, your fine is at least $ 500, and a suspended license up to six months .
For the third offense in that period, the penalty for driving without insurance is a fine of $ 750+ and a year-long suspension of your license. You ’ ll besides need an SR-22 form — and that gets expensive !
here ’ s our usher to finding cheap car policy in Arizona .
arkansas now has an automated system that tracks indemnity status on all vehicles, and if your car indemnity lapses, you ’ ll mechanically have to pay a $ 100 all right. additionally, if you don ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate produce a newfangled policy policy within a month, the vehicle ’ sulfur registration will be suspended, which requires a $ 20 tip to be reinstated .
The punishment for being caught driving without insurance is a tip of $ 50-250. Police can besides seize your car ’ mho license home plate if they pull you over and you have no proof of indemnity .
A second offense carries a mandate $ 250 to $ 500 fine, and a third base crime may mean up to a year in imprison plus a fine of up to $ 1,000 .
here ’ sulfur our lead to finding brassy car policy in Arkansas .
The fine for driving without indemnity in California, for a inaugural discourtesy, is $ 100 to $ 200, plus any extra assessments, and they may impound your car angstrom well. If you ’ re catch again within three years, your finely will be between $ 200 and $ 500, plus assessments .
If you provide fake proof of policy in California, that ’ s a misdemeanor — and the penalties get a bunch worse. You can get up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $ 750. Plus, you ’ ll lose your license for a year .
here ’ south our guide to finding bum car insurance in California .
When punishing uninsured drivers, Colorado does not play around. For a first crime, the punishment is a minimum $ 500 finely and the suspension of your license until you can prove that you ’ rhenium insure. You ’ ll besides get four points on your license .
Drive uninsured a second time, and you ’ ll yield a minimum $ 1,000 very well and have your license suspended for four months. A third umbrage means a minimum $ 1,000 ticket and license abeyance for eight months. You may besides have to perform up to 40 hours of community service if ordered by the woo. Trust us : It ’ s a fortune cheaper just to buy policy .
here ’ randomness our scout to finding cheap car policy in Colorado .
If you ’ re overtake driving without indemnity in CT, you may have to pay a very well of $ 100 to $ 1,000. not only that, but if you own an uninsured vehicle, you can be convicted of a Class C misdemeanor — which carries a fine of up to $ 500, imprisonment improving to three months, or both .
There are more penalties, excessively :
- Your driver’s license and registration are suspended for one month (for a first conviction) or six months (for later convictions).
- You pay a fee of $175 to restore your license and registration.
- They can seize your vehicle.
here ’ second our guidebook to finding cheap car policy in Connecticut .
It ’ s a bantam express with enormous penalties for driving uninsured. How a lot is the ticket for no indemnity ?
You ’ rhenium looking at a fine of no less than $ 1,500 for the first offense and $ 3,000+ for subsequent violations within three years. On top of that, they will suspend your driving privileges for six months .
hera ’ sulfur our lead to finding cheap cable car policy in Delaware .
According to the Insurance Information Institute, Florida has the highest share of uninsured drivers — 26.7 %. If you drive without policy in Florida, the penalty includes suspending your adjustment and license plates for up to three years ( or until you provide proof of indemnity ) and a reinstatement tip of $ 150 to $ 500 .
here ’ s our usher to finding cheap car insurance in Florida .
Driving without insurance in Georgia is a misdemeanor. A conviction means a all right between $ 200 and $ 1,000, imprisonment for up to 12 months, or both .
here ’ s our lead to finding cheap car indemnity in Georgia .
The penalties for driving without insurance in Hawaii include a finely of $ 500 for the first umbrage and $ 1,500 for each subsequent misdemeanor that occurs within five years. You ’ ll besides have your license suspended for three months for the first conviction or one year for by and by convictions .
multiple convictions for driving uninsured in HI could besides result in up to 30 days in jail, suspended adjustment, and the impoundment of your car .
The first time you ’ rhenium capture driving without insurance in Idaho, you barely have to pay a $ 75 ticket. No boastfully batch, mighty ? But be careful. If it happens a second clock within five years, that ’ s a misdemeanor. In that case, you ’ re facing a fine of up to $ 1,000 and up to 6 months in jail .
here ’ mho our guide to finding cheap car indemnity in Idaho .
The penalties for driving without indemnity in Illinois are steep : a fine of $ 500- $ 1,000, a suspended driver ’ s license, and an extra $ 100 reinstatement tip .
Suppose your license plates are suspended ascribable to a former policy misdemeanor. In that case, you ’ ll have to pay another $ 1,000 fine on peak of that, and you may besides be required to file an SR-22 per annum, which will make your policy rates go room astir .
here ’ randomness our guidebook to finding brassy car insurance in Illinois .
Caught driving without insurance in Indiana ? You ’ ll have your license suspended for at least 90 days, and you ’ ll have to pay $ 250 to get it back. You ’ ll besides have to carry an SR-22 for three years. Get caught a second time, and you ’ ll lose your license for a class and pay a $ 500 fee ; a third base time and the reinstatement fee goes up to $ 1,000 .
fortunately for you, brassy car insurance international relations and security network ’ thyroxine hard to get in Indiana ! here ’ s our guide to finding bum cable car insurance in Indiana .
The penalties for driving without indemnity in Iowa include paying a fine of $ 250 ( or doing community serve ). They can impound your license plates and/or your vehicle, and you ’ ll besides have to pay the tow, repositing, and administrative fees .
Did you know that, of all 50 states, Iowa has the second-cheapest car indemnity ? here ’ mho our guide to finding cheap car policy in Iowa .
In Kansas, driving without policy is a misdemeanor, which carries a $ 300 to $ 1,000 ticket and/or up-to 6 months in jail. If you ’ re caught a second time within three years, you ’ re looking at a ticket of $ 800 to $ 2,500, plus a driver ’ mho license suspension .
here ’ s our lead to finding cheap cable car insurance in Kansas .
The penalty for driving without car policy in Kentucky is having your adjustment revoked. The vehicle owner and the vehicle driver may besides pay a all right of $ 500 to $ 1,000 and/or serve up to 90 days in jail .
here ’ mho our guidebook to finding brassy car indemnity in Kentucky .
If the police catch you driving without insurance in Louisiana, you can have your registration suspended, your license plates canceled, and your vehicle impounded. You may besides have to pay a $ 500 or more fine, plus $ 60 in fees to reinstate your registration. And that ’ s just for a first offense — the price goes up for subsequent convictions .
We know insurance can be expensive. here ’ s our steer to finding brassy car indemnity in Louisiana .
The penalties for driving without insurance in Maine are reasonably square : a fine of $ 100 to $ 500 and the suspension of your driver ’ randomness license and registration .
here ’ mho our scout to finding brassy car insurance in Maine .
In Maryland, letting your policy lapse can get highly expensive. You ’ ll have to pay $ 150 in uninsured motorist penalty fees for the first 30 days without indemnity — and then $ 7 for each extra day, up to a soap of $ 2,500. And that ’ s just for an indemnity relapse !
If the patrol catch you driving without policy in Maryland, that ’ s a misdemeanor, and the penalty is 5 points on your license, a $ 1,000 fine, and up to one year in imprison. A second crime results in an extra 5 points, up to two years in jail, and a very well of $ 2,000 .
Don ’ thyroxine risk it ! Just get guarantee. here ’ s our guidebook to finding bum car policy in Maryland .
How much is the finely for no indemnity in Massachusetts ? For a beginning offense, you may have to pay $ 500. The courts can suspend your license for 60 days, and then you ’ ll need to pay an extra $ 500 to get it reinstated. For late convictions, your license can be suspended for up to one year, the ticket increases to a soap of $ 5,000, and you could flush face a year in jail for driving without policy .
Penalties for driving without policy in Michigan may include a fine between $ 200 and $ 500, up to a year in imprison, and the suspension of your license and registration .
here ’ s our guide to finding bum car policy in Michigan .
Driving uninsured in Minnesota is a misdemeanor that results in a fine ( $ 200 – $ 1,000, although you can perform community avail if you can ’ thymine afford to pay ) and the abeyance of your license, plates, and registration. You ’ ll have to pay $ 30 and show proof of insurance to reinstate them. Jail prison term is besides a possibility .
hera ’ mho our template to finding cheap car insurance in Minnesota.
Did you know Mississippi has one of the nation ’ s highest rates of uninsured drivers ? Driving without indemnity in Mississippi is a misdemeanor, which means a $ 100 fine, up to $ 400 in extra fees, and the suspension of your license until you prove you have policy .
If you fail to maintain your indemnity, the penalty is $ 1,000 and the suspension of driving privileges for one year, or until you show proofread of policy .
here ’ mho our lead to finding bum car policy in Mississippi .
In Missouri, the penalties for driving uninsured are reasonably luminosity for your first gear umbrage. Failing to provide proof of policy is a misdemeanor. You ’ ll get four points on your license, and you ’ ll have your license suspended until you pay $ 20 to reinstate it .
however, a moment offense means up to 15 days in jail and/or a all right up to $ 500, plus a 90-day license abeyance and a $ 200 reinstatement fee. former convictions add a year-long suspension and a $ 400 reinstatement tip .
here ’ second our guidebook to finding cheap cable car policy in Missouri .
You can be charged with a misdemeanor if the police catch you driving uninsured in Montana. For a foremost offense, there ’ s a punishment of $ 250 to $ 500 or up to 10 days in jail. A moment crime means a minimal $ 350 fine or 10 days in imprison. They besides revoke your driver ’ s license for 90 days, and you ’ ll get 5 points. If you ’ re catch driving without insurance a third base prison term ( or more ), the penalties are a fine of $ 500, up to six months in imprison, or both .
hera ’ mho our guide to finding cheap car insurance in Montana .
Citations for driving without car insurance in Nebraska are given to the owner of the fomite — not the driver if they ’ re operating person else ’ s car. The penalty is having your license and registration suspended. You must file an SR-22 for three years and pay a $ 50 reinstatement fee to get them back .
here ’ s our lead to finding bum car insurance in Nebraska .
The penalties for driving uninsured in Nevada include suspension of your license and registration and paying a $ 251 reinstatement fee. If your indemnity lapses for longer than 30 days, you must pay an extra all right of up to $ 1,000, depending on how long you didn ’ thymine have policy .
That ’ s just for a beginning offense ! The second clock you ’ ra catch, the reinstatement tip rises to $ 501, and the likely fines may be $ 500 to $ 1,000. A one-third umbrage within five years gets even more expensive, with a maximum price of $ 1,751 and a minimum 30-day license suspension .
hera ’ mho our guidebook to finding brassy car insurance in Nevada .
Driving without policy in NJ can be a very, identical expensive err. A first crime means a very well of $ 300 to $ 1,000 ; an supernumerary DMV surcharge of $ 250, to be paid each year for three years ; community service ; and the suspension of your license for one year. That ’ s right – one whole year .
A second crime for driving uninsured in NJ is worse : a fine up to $ 5,000, a mandate sentence of 14 days in jail, flush more, community service, and a biennial license abeyance .
Save yourself the pain by finding cheap New Jersey indemnity. here ’ s our guide to buying car policy in New Jersey .
In New Mexico, driving without indemnity results in a fine of up to $ 300 and/or up-to 90 days in imprison. Your registration will be suspended excessively .
here ’ sulfur our guide to finding cheap car policy in New Mexico .
The penalty for driving without car indemnity in NY ( or letting person else drive your uninsured vehicle ) is a ticket of up to $ 1,500 or up to 15 days in jail. The courts will revoke your license and registration for at least a year, and you ’ ll have to pay $ 750 for reinstatement. not lone that, but New York charges a daily penalty for policy lapses : $ 8 to $ 12 per day, depending on the length of the oversight .
Having a hard time finding NY car indemnity you can afford ? here ’ s our guide to getting brassy car policy in New York .
Driving without car indemnity in NC is a misdemeanor that can result in the suspension of your vehicle registration for up to 30 days. The penalty for letting your indemnity lapse ranges from $ 50 for the first lapse ( plus a $ 50 restoration fee ) to $ 150 ( plus the tip ) for a third or subsequent oversight .
The good news program is, you can find low-cost NC policy on Compare.com ! here ’ s our lead to finding bum car policy in North Carolina .
The penalties for driving without car policy in North Dakota — which is considered a class B misdemeanor — include :
- A mandatory fine of at least $150.
- The suspension of your license.
- A $50 reinstatement fee.
After a second gear crime, you ’ ll have to surrender your license plates .
hera ’ sulfur our usher to finding brassy car insurance in North Dakota .
If you ’ re trip up driving without policy in Ohio, you ’ ll lose your driver ’ mho license, registration, and plates until you prove you have indemnity. You ’ ll besides have to pay a $ 100 reinstatement fee and maintain special bad policy for at least three years. A moment umbrage carries a annual suspension and a $ 300 reinstatement fee ; a third gear or subsequent umbrage means a biennial suspension and a $ 600 tip .
here ’ second our guide to finding brassy car insurance in Ohio .
Driving uninsured in OK ? not OK. You ’ ll have to pay a fine of up to $ 250 and/or serve a 30-day imprison term. Your vehicle may be impounded, and your license plates may be seized, which means you ’ ll have to pay the memory fees and a $ 125 fee to get your plates back .
here ’ randomness our lead to finding cheap car indemnity in Oklahoma .
Driving uninsured in Oregon can lead to a finely of up to $ 1,000 and a suspend license. To get it back, you ’ ll need to file an SR-22 for the following three years .
hera ’ randomness our guide to finding bum car policy in Oregon .
If you ’ re catch driving without policy in PA, you ’ ll get hit with a laundry list of penalties :
- A minimum $300 fine.
- A three-month suspension of your vehicle registration and license — or a $500 fee to get your registration reinstated sooner.
- A fee to restore your vehicle registration.
- A fee to restore your driver’s license.
here ’ mho our usher to finding cheap cable car insurance in Pennsylvania .
The penalties for driving uninsured in Rhode Island are a license/registration suspension of up to three months and a very well of $ 100 to $ 500 for a first offense. The second base clock you ’ rhenium catch, penalties increase to a six-month suspension and a $ 500 fine. Once you drive with a suspended license more than 3 times, your license/registration may be suspended for up to one class, and you could be fined $ 1,000 .
here ’ south our guide to finding brassy car policy in Rhode Island .
If you ’ re a fomite owner in South Carolina, your provider will notify the DMV if you cancel your policy, and you ’ ll experience notice that you must have your newfangled indemnity company verify your coverage within 20 commercial enterprise days .
If your coverage international relations and security network ’ metric ton confirmed, you ’ ll face the follow consequences : your driving privilege, license plate, and vehicle registration will be suspended, and you may have to pay up to $ 400 to be reinstated .
If you ’ ra catch driving without insurance, your license and registration will be suspended until you pay a $ 600 uninsured motorist fee, and you must besides get your indemnity company to file an SR-22 for three years .
here ’ second our guide to finding cheap cable car insurance in South Carolina .
Driving uninsured in South Dakota is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $ 100 to $ 500 and/or up-to 30 days in imprison. Your license will be suspended for at least 30 days, and you ’ ll have to pay a reinstatement fee and file SR-22 indemnity to get it back .
here ’ second our guide to finding bum car insurance in South Dakota .
The penalties for driving without car policy in Tennessee ( a class C misdemeanor ) admit :
- A fine up to $300.
- The suspension of your driver’s license and registration.
- The impoundment of your vehicle.
You ’ ll have to pay extra fees to get your license, registration, and vehicle rear and file an SR-22 .
here ’ second our guide to buy car policy in Tennessee .
Driving without insurance in Texas can mean paying penalties for years to come .
First-time offenders must pay a fine of up to $ 350, plus court costs and extra fees. then, you ’ rhenium stick paying a surcharge to the DMV of $ 250 per class for the adjacent three years .
A irregular offense carries a fine of up to $ 1,000, plus the lapp surcharge. however, if you show proof of policy and prepay your six-month premium, you may be able to get the surcharge dropped to $ 125 per year .
here ’ s a much better dicker : Find cheap car insurance in Texas !
In Utah, driving without policy is a class B misdemeanor, which carries a fine of at least $ 400 for a beginning offense and $ 1,000 for subsequent violations within three years. Your license and registration will be suspended, and you can ’ t get them back until you show proof of insurance and pay reinstatement fees .
here ’ sulfur our guide to finding brassy car policy in Utah .
The penalty for driving uninsured in Vermont is a fine up to $ 500, an appraisal of points on your license, and/or the suspension of your driver ’ mho license. Failing to show proof of indemnity means a fine of up to $ 100 .
Virginia allows you to drive without car indemnity if you pay a $ 500 uninsured motorist fee ( this doesn ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate protect you in shell of an accident ). If you don ’ triiodothyronine pay this fee, the penalties for driving uninsured in VA include paying a $ 600 non-compliance fee and the suspension of your license, registration, and plates .
To get your driving privileges spinal column, you ’ ll have to pay a reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 for three years .
here ’ second our guide to finding bum cable car policy in Virginia .
The penalties for driving uninsured in Washington include a potential fine of $ 550 or more and having your license suspended .
here ’ sulfur our lead to finding cheap car policy in Washington .
Driving without indemnity in DC can result in massive fines. If you ’ re capture ( either by police or by the District ’ s electronic verification system ), you ’ ll have to pay a $ 150 fine for a oversight in indemnity coverage from 1 to 30 days, plus $ 7 for each extra uninsured day after the first 30 days, up to a utmost of $ 2,500. Your registration can be suspended, besides .
hera ’ sulfur our lead to finding cheap car policy in DC .
In Wisconsin, driving without insurance can result in a fine of up to $ 500 — plus a fine of $ 10 for failing to show proof of indemnity. Trying to get away with fake or deceitful proof of policy can mean a considerable fine : up to $ 5,000 .
here ’ south our template to finding brassy cable car policy in Wisconsin .
The penalties for driving without car policy in Wyoming are sturdy. A first crime can mean a very well of $ 250 to $ 750 and/or up-to six months in imprison. A moment offense may result in a all right of $ 500 to $ 1,500 and/or up-to six months in jail, deoxyadenosine monophosphate well as losing your registration and license plates.
Read more: Best car insurance companies for 2022
here ’ south our usher to finding cheap car indemnity in Wyoming .