Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in South Carolina
The minimal indebtedness car indemnity requirements for secret passenger vehicles in South Carolina are as follows :
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI)
Bodily injury indebtedness coverage protects drivers if their car is involved in an accident that harms another individual. The minimum limits required by South Carolina state law are $ 25,000 for the death or injury of a individual victim as a leave of a car accident and $ 50,000 for the deaths or injuries of multiple victims. indemnity companies list this type of coverage as 25/50, referring to the dollar limitations of each minimal. If you ’ re in an accident, liability coverage will cover the cost of a legal continue as a solution of a crash. Bodily injury coverage is separate of the minimal coverage required by South Carolina law.
- $25,000 per accident for Property Damage (PD)
The country minimum amount of property damage indebtedness coverage required in the country of South Carolina is $ 25,000. If an insure driver is determined to be at fault and held liable in a drive vehicle accident, this coverage pays for damage repair to another individual ’ south property. Property wrong coverage will besides pay for legal costs if an insured driver is involved in a lawsuit.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are required in South Carolina. This coverage protects drivers who might incur damages from an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. If involved in an accident with an individual without sufficient coverage, insured drivers will still be covered. The legally ask charge of uninsured motorist coverage is :
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury
- $25,000 per accident for Property Damage
South Carolina DMV Information
The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles ( DMV ) provides numerous services for drivers, like issuing and renewing driver ’ mho licenses. When you are renewing or applying for your driver ’ s license in South Carolina, you must present proof that you meet the express ’ sulfur minimum coverage requirements with a company licensed to do business in the state .
Public Transportation in South Carolina
South Carolina provides a bus avail as public transportation for its residents. Buses may run between cities and counties and may be a well option if your license is revoked or suspended or if you ’ re merely not an car owner .